Saturday, October 6, 2007

2005/2006 Scholarship and Award Winners

Violet Richardson Award - Ashley Gullicksen

The Violet Richardson Award honors young women between the ages of 14-17 who make the world a better place through volunteer efforts, especially those that benefit women and girls.

Ashley is a volunteer at the Boys & Girls Club of Anacortes, as well as a participant in Youth Dynamics and Young Life. She has been a part of the Swim Team and a cheerleader and sets a wonderful example of leadership and service.

Professional / Technical Scholarship - Sarah McDugle

The Professional / Technical Scholarship can be awarded to anyone currently enrolled in a non-degree program leading to a certificate or license.

Sarah is a single mother, currently enrolled in a cosmetology program who wants to be an instructor after she graduates. She is grateful to be back in school after having her son and understands the value of furthering her education.

Making a Difference for Women Award - Eileen Ray

The Soroptimist Making a Difference for Women Award honors women who, through their professional or personal efforts, are making extraordinary differences in the lives of women and girls. Their work has had a significant impact within the community and inspires and encourages other women.

Eileen is a Career Center Specialist at Anacortes High School, who was nominated for her outstanding work with girls at AHS and women in the community.

Women's Opportunity Award - Stephanie Canapo

The Women's Opportunity Award, the signature service program of Soroptimist International of the Americas, awards cash grants to women who are the primary source of financial support for their families and who are seeking to improve their employment status through education.

Stephanie is a hard-working, single mother of two boys currently enrolled in the Skagit Valley College Nursing Program. She has been working steadily at positions in the medical field as she pursued her nursing degree and is currently employed by Island Hospital.

Congratulations to all our award winners!

No comments: